Exploring Colorado Springs

We woke early and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at the hotel. We set off for Garden of the Gods. I had heard a lot about it but had never been. My son started out less than impressed. When we entered the park, it seemed like a giant tease to him. We IMG_1905walked along the rocks and read all the signs that said no climbing. Just before we gave up, the rocks got bigger and there was no rules regarding climbing.

True to his boyhood nature he climbed every rock in the park. He scrambled up crevices, climbed through holes created by thousands of years of erosion, and throughly enjoyed himself. We had a picnic and then decided to head to Pikes Peak.

I bought tickets for the Cog Train to the top of Pikes Peak. We waited patiently among the crowds of people for our train. We sat facing another couple as we headed up the mountain. The views were impressive and at some points snow was high over the window. I found out that the train had just opened that day due to the massive amount of snow. As we ascended the 14,000 feet I felt myself getting light headed. This was a new sensation for me so I didn’t realize I was experience altitude sickness.

IMG_1908.JPGOnce we reached the top I stepped out into the cold mountain air and felt incredibly dizzy. Everything spun and I felt like I might pass out. We went into the gift shop and decided quickly that it was way too crowded. We walked around the top of Pikes Peak taking in the massive view and watching our breaths in the cold air. It was cold enough that when I mentioned returning to the train to wait for our departure my son was in total agreement. I was so dizzy I could barely walk.

On our way back down the mountain I started to feel a little better, but was still a bit off. My son began complaining of feeling sick to his stomach. He laid in my lap for the ride down. When we reached the bottom we both felt ill. Being from Kansas, you don’t get a lot of opportunity to experience altitude like that.

 

IMG_1907It didn’t take long for us to start feeling better. I decided to go out for dinner at a
IMG_1906restaurant that was inside an old Boeing KC-97 tanker, called the Airplane Restaurant.  I knew my son would love it. As anticipated, he was ecstatic.The food was nothing to write home about, but the experience was definitely worth it. Booths were set up where the passenger seating would normally be. I lost him for most of dinner because the cockpit was open for children. There was a bazillion buttons and switches, and definitely sparked his imagination.

With full tummies and tired bodies, I drove to Monte Vista, Colorado while he slept. I checked in after dark and the older man behind the desk talked me like I was a friend. Each room has a theme and we stayed in the Wild Mustang room. I had to laugh when I carried my sleeping son in and laid him on the bed. The decor made it very clear why this room was the Wild Mustang room.

IMG_1904

The next morning when we woke my son sat up, looked around and said, “Well, this is interesting”.

Leave a Reply

