Killing the Boredom on a Road Trip

Driving across Kansas has to be one of the most brutally boring trips for a child. I made a vow early on that we would not spend more than 2 hours in the car at a time. This would take some serious creativity on my part. I did a little research and decided that 2 apps would be essential in assisting me in keeping my child from ruining our trip out of boredom.

I downloaded the Roadside America app to my phone so we could find odd things along the way to break up the trip. It’s full of great roadside attractions that you wouldn’t necessarily know about.

I also made sure my Geocaching app was up to date on my phone. Geocaching is the equivalent of treasure hunting. It’s a big win with my son. When boredom starts to rear its ugly head I turn the app on and we look for the nearest geocache. We have found them roadside on bridges, fence posts, and trees. It’s a great way to stretch your legs and take a break from the car. It’s also always a little exciting when you find one.

An atlas. Within the first hour of driving I showed my son how to read the atlas. It laid FullSizeRender (7)out huge on his little lap and I explained how it worked. I pointed at our destination and told him he was the navigator. This kept him engaged and let him feel like he had some say in what was going on (not to mention teaching him how to read a map).

Books. At 7 my son was just starting to get good at reading. I found books at the library that were about Native American Indians, the Southwest US, and some just for fun. I would ask him to read to me.

Music. Without intention, we ended up with two theme songs for our trip. They became our favorites and he loved working the ipod and playing DJ. It made for great sing alongs, and he brought his drum sticks so he could tap out the beat.

Ipad. I downloaded kid appropriate movies ahead of time for the hours that were destined for inactivity. (After Kansas he never picked up).

I absolutely love my son, but he has taught me a valuable lesson: when boredom strikes and he’s unhappy, everyone is unhappy. Most of the time he is perfectly happy engaging me in conversation or reading to me. My goal for the trip was not to turn the car around in a few days and call it quits. I knew it was a real possibility if he hated the extensive car ride ahead of us. I personally have little tolerance for whining so this trip could go very good or very bad.

Leave a Reply

